These Apps Take Our Data But I Can’t Delete Them

Simple Alpaca
3 min readDec 11, 2021

So, it seems like there’s some little drama going on between a lot of these social media applications and the iOS app tracking feature that Apple pushed out. Now, this little article came out from mac rumors, but other people talked about it as well, stating that even when you opt-out of app tracking from Facebook and Snapchat, it looks like these applications are still able to monitor your activity in the background:

Personally, it’s kind of strange because no matter what we do, it still seems like these applications will have access to our data. To be honest, it’s weird because, in the background of my head, I know these apps probably utilize some of my data in the background, but I can’t and I probably won’t delete them, it’s such a strange little paradox. To add to this, not only do I heavily use these apps, but a lot of people I know also utilize these apps, so it’s hard to get everyone I know to switch over to another application, even if some of these apps take our data (allegedly).

--

--